Nedbank Cup round of 32 date, times and venues confirmed

In just over two weeks one of South Africa’s most popular competition, Nedbank Cup will return with its 10th year anniversary edition. Today, the Premier Soccer League confirmed the dates, kick-off times and venues for the 2016/17 Nedbank Cup last round of 32.

Nedbank Cup trophy

The Nedbank Cup will kick-off on Monday, 06 March 2017. The opening match of the Nedbank Cup will once again resemble the David vs Goliath when on-form Mamelodi Sundowns host ABC Motsepe side, Mariveni United from Limpopo – a side that will be making its debut appearance in this prestigious competition. The match will be played at the Lucas Moripe Stadium – kick-off is at 19h30.

Besides the 16 Premier Division sides and the eight NFD clubs, there are five clubs from the SAFA structures that will participate in the Nedbank Cup for the first time. They are: KwaDukuza United (KwaZulu Natal, ABC Motsepe League), Acornbush United (Mpumalanga, ABC Motsepe League), Buya Msuthu (North West, ABC Motsepe League), and Days FC (Free State, SAB League).

On Wednesday, 08 March, African All Stars, who are making their second consecutive appearance in the last round of 32, will travel to Polokwane to play Polokwane City at the Old Peter Mokaba Stadium.

Three days later (Saturday), there will be a total of six fixtures while Sunday will see four fixtures with the KwaZulu Natal derby between Lamontville Golden Arrows and Maritzburg United amongst the key fixtures to look forward to.

Defending Nedbank Cup champions, SuperSport United will be in action on the last day of the round of 32, Wednesday, 15 March 2017 when they travel to the Harry Gwala Stadium to face unpredictable National First Division club, Royal Eagles.

The PSL will communicate ticketing information in due course.

Leave a Reply