Absa Premiership, Breaking News

PSL announces the MultiChoice Diski Shield knockout competition

MultiChoice together with the Premier Soccer League (PSL) has announced a new knockout competition; the MultiChoice Diski Shield for the MultiChoice Diski Challenge, an expansion of the MultiChoice Diski Challenge (PSL Reserve League).

The competition which feature 16-teams will kick off on Saturday, 07 April 2018 and will run until 05 May 2018 – a total of 24 fixtures.

The competition groups the 16 clubs into four regional pools: Central, Coastal West, Coastal East and Northern pool. Each pool consists of four clubs all vying for regional supremacy in a quest dubbed ‘Ubani Ibhoza Ngakini?’ which means ‘Who’s the boss in your hood?’


Central: Orlando Pirates, Kaizer Chiefs, Platinum Stars and Bidvest Wits.
Coastal East: AmaZulu, Golden Arrows, Maritzburg United and Chippa United.
Coastal West: Cape Town City, Ajax Cape Town, Bloemfontein Celtic and Free State Stars
Northern: Mamelodi Sundowns, SuperSport United, Polokwane City and Baroka FC.



In the first round of the tournament, clubs will play each other once and the club with the most points at the end of the pool stages will progress to the semi-finals. This stage will be known as a ‘Clash of the Cities’ affair.

The winners of the MultiChoice Diski Shield will receive a trophy and R150 000 towards a football development initiative for a local community of their choice.

Fixtures of the first round to be released in due course.


Leave a Reply