Absa Premiership, Breaking News, Soccer

Wits and Sundowns wins Q-Innovation Q1 and Q2

On-form Absa Premiership sides, Bidvest Wits and Mamelodi Sundowns have been confirmed as the Absa Premiership Q-Innovation Quarter One (Q1) and Quarter Two (Q2) winners.

The Absa Premiership Trophy

The two clubs will be handed the awards tonight during their respective Absa Premiership fixtures at half-time: at Bidvest Stadium (Bidvest Wits vs Orlando Pirates) and Lucas Moripe: (Mamelodi Sundowns vs Platinum Stars).

The clubs will pocket R1, 5 million each for their achievements.

Quarter One:

Bidvest Wits won Quarter One with 20 points from eight (8) matches. They were followed in second place by Mamelodi Sundowns with 16 points from the same number of matches. SuperSport United and Kaizer Chiefs occupied third and fourth spot with 15 points apiece.

Quarter Two:

Mamelodi Sundowns won the Absa Premiership Quarter Two with 17 points from seven (7) matches – having won five matches. They were followed by Ajax Cape Town in second place with 15 points from the same number of fixtures. SuperSport United and Maritzburg United were third and fourth – 13 and 12 points.

Q-innovation Fact Sheets:

– Each side that wins a Quarter gets R1,5 million in prize money

– Quarter One (8 Fixtures), Quarter Two (7 Fixtures), Quarter Three (8 Fixtures), Quarter Four (7 Fixtures)

2016/17 Season:

– Bidvest Wits won Absa Premiership Quarter One (20 points)

– Mamelodi Sundowns won Absa Premiership Quarter Two (Q2)

2015/16 Season:

– Bidvest Wits won Absa Premiership 2015/16 Quarter 1 (19 Points, 8 games)

– Mamelodi Sundowns won Absa Premiership 2015/16 Quarter 2 (19 points, 7 games)

– Mamelodi Sundowns won Quarter Three with 19 points

– Mamelodi Sundowns won Quarter Four (16 points – with a game in hand)

2014/15 Season

– Kaizer Chiefs won 2014/15 Absa Premiership Quarter 1 and Quarter 4

– Polokwane City claimed Quarter 2 top honours (2014/15 season)

– Mamelodi Sundowns won Quarter 3 (2014/15 season)

Leave a Reply