Bafana Bafana wins Nelson Mandela Challenge third time in a row

South Africa edged out Egypt 1-0 on Tuesday to clinch the Nelson Mandela Challenge title at the Orlando Stadium.

South Africa edged out Egypt 1-0
South Africa edged out Egypt 1-0

An early goal from Mpho Makola saw South Africa defeat Egypt 1-0 to win the Nelson Mandela Challenge for the third time in a row.

Egypt battened down the hatches after the goal and made it to halftime with the score still 1-0, though they offered relatively little going forward apart from the odd flash of danger when their speedy forwards threatened to get in behind the hosts’ defence.

The Pharaohs were much more inventive after the break and created two good chances within 10 minutes of the restart, with Mahmoud ‘Trezeguet’ Hassan heading off target before Mohamed Salah somehow shot wide of goal with only Itumeleng Khune to beat.

Both teams will return to action early next month when they participate in the opening round of group matches in 2018 World Cup qualifying.

SA: Itumeleng Khune, Abbubaker Mobara (Ramahlwe Mphahlele 61’), Tebogo Langerman (Sifiso Hlanti 82’), Clayton Daniels, Thulani Hlatshwayo, Andile Jali, Dean Furman, Mpho Makola, Mandla Masango (Deolin Mekoa 77’), Keagan Dolly (Hlompho Kekana 66’), Thamsanqa Gabuza (Sibusiso Vilakazi 61’)

Egypt: Ahmed Shennawy, Omar Gaber (Ahmed Fathy 76’), Ali Gabr, Ahmed Dweidar, Mohamed Abdel-Shafy, Mohamed Elneny (Tarek Hamed 63’), Ibrahim Salah, Abdallah El-Said (Ramadan Sobhi 78’), Mahmoud ‘Trezeguet’ Hassan (Mostafa Fathy 90+1’), Mohamed Salah, Ahmed ‘Koka’ Hassan (Amr Gamal 80’)

By Matthews Moraba

Leave a Reply