Breaking News, CAF Champions League, Mamelodi Sundowns

Sundowns not seeded for the CAF Champions League “group stages”

The 2016 Total CAF Champions League winners Mamelodi Sundowns not seeded ahead of the group stages draw in Cairo.

The CAF Interclubs Committee at its meeting at the CAF Headquarters in Cairo on Tuesday approved the procedure for the draw of the group phase Total CAF Champions League 2018 which will feature 16-teams.

The draw for the two competitions will be held on Wednesday at the Ritz Carlton in Cairo at 17:00.

According to CAF the qualified teams were ranked according to their performances in the last five editions of the CAF Interclubs competitions (2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013).

For the Total CAF Champions League, the points allotted are winner – 6, runner-up-5, semi-final – 4, quarterfinal – 3, third in group – 2 and fourth in group – 1, multiplied by a co-efficient of 5,4,3,2,1 for the editions 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014 and 2013 respectively.

Four Pots were subsequently established for the Total CAF Champions League:

  1. Pot 1: TP Mazembe (DR Congo), Al Ahly (Egypt), Etoile du Sahel (Tunisia), Wydad (Morocco)
  2. Pot 2: Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa), Zesco (Zambia), Esperance (Tunisia), ES Setif (Algeria)
  3. Pot 3: MC Alger (Algeria), KCCA (Uganda), Horoya (Guinea), Mbabane Swallows (Swaziland)
  4. Pot 4: Primero de Agosto (Angola), Township Rollers (Botswana), Difaa El Jadidi (Morocco), AS Port (Togo)

The draw will start with Pot 4, with the first ball drawn directly going to Group A. Another draw will be done to determine its position (A1, A2, A3 or A4).

The same procedure will repeated for Pots 3, 2 & 1 to complete the groupings.

Leave a Reply