Sunfoil series season to start earlier than scheduled

Sunfoil Series Season 2016/17
Sunfoil Series Season 2016/17

The 2016/17 Sunfoil Series Season is set to start a day earlier than scheduled after early-season fixtures were amended in aid of the Standard Bank Proteas.

It has become necessary to change the dates of the first two rounds of the 4-day franchise competition. This has been done at the request of Proteas management.

The new dates will enable those members of the Test squad, who are not involved in the Momentum ODI Series against Australia, to play in these rounds before the squad leaves for Australia in mid-October for their three-match Test Series in that country.

Instead of the new season starting on Thursday, October 6, the opening round of fixtures it will now start 24-hours earlier on Wednesday, October 5 and run through to Saturday rather than Sunday.

The second round of fixtures has been brought two days forward. So rather than beginning on Thursday, October 13, they will begin on Tuesday, October 11 and end on Friday, instead of Sunday.

The affected fixtures are as follows:

Round 1 (October 5-8)
Warriors v Sunfoil Dolphins – Buffalo Park Cricket Stadium, East London
bizhub Highveld Lions v Cape Cobras – Bidvest Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg
Titans v VKB Knights – SuperSport Park, Centurion

Round 2 (October 11-14)
Warriors v Titans – St George’s Cricket Ground, Port Elizabeth
bizhub Highveld Lions v Sunfoil Dolphins – Senwes Park, Potchefstroom
VKB Knights v Cape Cobras – Mangaung Oval, Bloemfontein

Edited by Matthews Moraba

Leave a Reply